DBER | Archived Seminar Presentation Materials

Click on the titles of each presentation to find the abstract and/or slides.

This site is updated regularly with materials presenters are willing to share and are available through the Digital Commons.

1 Speakers who did not grant permission to post materials are indicated with the superscript '1' at the end of their names; therefore, if interested in such a talk, consider directly contacting the speaker.

2 Speakers whose materials are in queue for upload to Digital Commons are indicated with the superscript '2' at the end of their names.

SEMINAR SCHEDULE
Fall 2016
Thu. Sep. 01 Spatial skills training and introductory computing Stephen Cooper
Thu. Sep. 08 Model building versus model investigation Joe Dauer1
Thu. Sep. 15 Problem solving in engineering Presentacion Rivera and Lance Perez1
Thu. Oct. 06 Teaching and research in SCIL 101: Science and decision-making for a complex world Jenny Dauer
Thu. Oct. 13 Clicker use in introductory biology: Impacts on exam performance Joanna K. Hubbard
Thu. Oct. 20 Benefits of using R for DBER Jordan Harshman
Thu. Oct. 27 Collegiate Active Learning Calculus Survey (CALCS): Adapting an instrument and using results Wendy Smith
Thu. Nov. 03 Exploring elementary teachers' model-based science instruction about water: A three year longitudinal multi-case study Tina Vo2
Thu. Nov. 10 Making classroom connections between farmers and students Randa Jabbour2
Thu. Nov. 17 Citizen science & science literacy ouglas Golick & Jenny Dauer1
Fri. Sep. 29 Improving science student retention: A survey tool to measure first-year students' likelihood to remain at UNL Mark E. Burbach
Fall 2015
Thu. Sep. 03 Integrating Computational Creativity Exercises into Classes Leen-Kiat Soh and Duane Shell
Thu. Sep. 10 Instrument for Observing Lab TAs Approach to Teaching Jon Velasco and Marilyne Stains1
Thu. Sep. 17 NebraskaMATH: Sharing Findings from a Statewide Partnership Wendy Smith
Thu. Sep. 24 Contextualized STEM Education and Training through Advanced Visualization Arefeh Mohammadi1
Thu. Oct. 01 International Students in Their Own Country: Motivation of Vietnamese Graduate Students to Attend Vietnamese-German University Christina Yao
Thu. Oct. 08 Student Perceptions of Formative Assessments Kati Brazeal and Brian Couch1
Thu. Oct. 15 Research-driven Facilitation of Systems Thinking with Computational Models in Life Sciences Education Heather Bergan-Roller and Nicholas Galt
Thu. Oct. 22 Research-driven Facilitation of Systems Thinking with Computational Models in Life Sciences Education Heather Bergan-Roller and Nicholas Galt
Thu. Oct. 29 Understanding Student Motivation and Strategic Engagement in Computer Science and STEM Courses Duane Shell and Leen-Kiat Soh
Thu. Nov. 05 Testing Assumptions of Interactive and Active Learning: An Evaluation of Tools for Online Information Literacy Instruction Erica DeFrain1
Thu. Nov. 12 Grounded Theory's Contested Family of Methods: Historical and Contemporary Applications Wayne Babchuck
Thu. Dec. 03 Biology Education Research Tessa Andrews1
Spring 2015
Thu. Jan. 29 Vehicles on the Road to Reform Julie Thomas
Thu. Feb. 05 Engaging Teenagers in Science with Comics Judy Diamond
Thu. Feb. 12 Climate change skeptics teach climate literacy? A content analysis of children’s books Julie Thomas
Thu. Feb. 19 Library Services for the DBER Group Lorna Dawes
Thu. Feb. 26 Is It Still Science If You Don't Call It Science? Trisha Hill and Julia McQuillan
Thu. Mar. 05 Introduction to Educational Measurement Anthony Albano
Thu. Mar. 12 Conceptual Assessment in Molecular Biology Brian Couch
Thu. Mar. 19 The Effectiveness of E-Coaching in Rural Science Classroms Gwen Nugent
Thu. Apr. 02 The Best of Both Worlds: Building on the COPUS and RTOP Observation Protocols to Easily and Reliably Measure Various Levels of Reformed Teaching Practice Marilyne Stains1
Thu. Apr. 09 Transforming Precalculs Instruction: Evidence-Based Course Design Wendy Smith
Thu. Apr. 16 The Effects of an Early Intervention Mastery Activity in the Mathematics Department Nathan Wakefield
Fall 2012
Thu. Aug. 30 Perceptions & Behavior on Chemistry Tutoring Jonathan Velasco1
Thu. Sep. 06 Climate Change Education: What Works and Why? Frank Rack
Thu. Sep. 13 Beginning Secondary Science Teachers PCK Krista Adams
Thu. Sep. 20 Young Children's Understanding of Conservation Concepts Julia Torquati
Thu. Sep. 27 Summer Institute on Scientific Teaching Steve Harris, Anisa Angeletti, & John Osterman
Thu. Oct. 04 The National Academy of Sciences Workshop on Assessments in Science Courses: A Community Report Leilani Arthurs
Thu. Oct. 11 Chemistry Faculty Use of Clickers Deblina Pakhira & Marilyne Stains1
Thu. Oct. 25 Statistics Education Research Jenny Green
Thu. Nov. 01 Insects as Teaching Tools Douglas Golick
Thu. Nov. 08 Nanoscience Outreach Stephen Ducharme
Thu. Nov. 15 The History and Impact of a College-Level Field-Based Course on Learner and Community Development David Harwood & Leilani Arthurs
Thu. Nov. 29 Discipline-Based Education Research: Understanding & Improving Learning in Undergraduate Science & Engineering Stacey Lowrey Bretz