Ribbon Graphic

Developing research collaborations

The second STEM Education Research Retreat will be held on Tuesday, October 18, from 11 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. in Hardin Hall on the UNL East Campus. This event is intended for all faculty, staff, postdoctoral research assistants, and students (graduate and undergraduate) who are conducting Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math Education (STEM) Research on the UNL campus.

The goal of this retreat is to provide an interactive poster session, allowing an opportunity for participants to showcase their teaching, extension, and/or research programs designed to foster science or STEM literacy. Presenters will be asked to provide a brief 1-2 minute overview of their work and contribute a poster through which to communicate and engage with other attendees as part of the session. More details regarding the poster requirements are on the registration form. Tweet about your research using #unlSTEMed!

See the 2015 Report


10:45 a.m. - 11 a.m. Registration: Hardin Hall, first floor
11 a.m. - Noon Ignite Talks: Poster Session
Noon-1:30 p.m. Lunch and Poster Session Gallery Walk (lunch will be provided)
1:45 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Click to play video

NSF Funding: Thomas Higgins and Thomas Kim, Program Officers in the Division of Undergraduate Education within the NSF Directorate for Education & Human Resources (EHR) will join us remotely. They will provide an overview of EHR programs where there are real opportunities for UNL faculty to compete, including IUSE, S-STEM, Noyce, and ECR. They will also provide some context about the increasing importance of STEM education research at NSF and offer some nuts and bolts pointers about doing business with NSF.

Flier thumbnail
View the flier


The STEM Education Research Retreat is sponsored by the UNL Center for Science, Mathematics and Computer Education, the NebraskaSCIENCE Program of Excellence and IANR Science Literacy.

Planning Committee:

  • Marilyne Stains, chair, Department of Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences (contact with questions)
  • Lindsay Augustyn, Center for Science, Mathematics and Computer Education
  • Heather Bergan, School of Natural Resources
  • Cory Forbes, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
  • Tiffany Heng-Moss, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
  • Erin Ingram, Institute for Agriculture and Natural Resources
  • Yvonne Lai, Department of Mathematics, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Wendy Smith, Center for Science, Mathematics and Computer Education